Skip to main content

Midlands Connect EV Conference

Our virtual EV Conference took place on 7 March, covering a range of topics in the EV sector from manufacturing EVs to ensuring that electrified transport is accessible to everyone.

Welcome and introductions

Maria Machancoses (CEO, Midlands Connect)

Presentation: Our work in the last 12 months

Heather Foster (EV Infrastructure Strategy Manager, Midlands Connect)

Panel 1: Exploring the rural and urban journey with Midlands EV Infrastructure Consortium

  • Tanya Vaughan (Special Projects Officer, Lincolnshire County Council)
  • Callum Smith (Principal Officer, Nottinghamshire County Council)
  • Daniel McCrory (Sustainable Travel Team Leader, Derbyshire County Council
  • Cameron Bowie (Nottingham City Council)
  • Chair: Heather Foster (EV Infrastructure Strategy Manager, Midlands Connect)

Keynote speech – Department for Transport

Lucy Kavanagh (Deputy Director for Environment and Future Mobility, Department for Transport)

Panel: Business & manufacturing - how do we electrify vehicles for 2035?

  • Martin Dowson (Chief Engineer for Electrification, Warwick Manufacturing Group)
  • Catherine Bowen (Senior Policy Advisor, British Vehicle Rental and Leasing Association)
  • Brit Morgan (Electrification Lead, Uber)
  • Chair: Bharat Pathania (Head of New Technologies, Midlands Connect)

Panel: Electrifying your fleet

  • Gavin Fletcher (Principal Net Zero Projects Officer, Midlands Net Zero Hub)
  • Lee Harper (Chief Engineer for Electrification Research, JCB)
  • James Stephens (Vice President for Corporate Affairs, DHL)
  • Roger Hey (Head of Development, National Grid)
  • Chair: Sarah Spink (Stakeholder Engagement Lead, Midlands Connect)

Panel: Supporting communities and making decarbonised transport accessible

  • Nick Mills (Research and Insight Manager, Community Transport Association)
  • Catherine Marris (Head of Innovation, Motability Foundation)
  • Beth Moreley (Mobility & Human Insights Manager, Cenex)
  • Richard Mallender (Local Government Support Programme Manager, Energy Saving Trust)
  • Chair: Vanessa Strange (Head of Infrastructure Investment, Lincolnshire County Council)